149097_460798274354_8058714_n

Inspired by Sound, Fury, and Absurdity.

This is me, years ago.  It was one of those really cold Californian days, where people from Colorado walk around in t-shirts and those of us from Texas are wearing 14 layers of clothes and boots.   I was in an art gallery, surrounded by acrylic paintings, a 5 foot tall knight holding an American flag, a lamp made of x-rays, signed books in stacks, and general eccentricity.

It was cluttered, loud, and cold.  To almost everyone else, the small hallway was packed with an overwhelming amount of geekery, artistry, and color.  But to me, it was a living meditation– peaceful, rejuvenating, and inspiring.

When I am surrounded by oddity, I am at peace.
When I am in a clutter of eccentricity, I am motivated.
When I am lost in weirdness, my path is illuminated.

I realized the only way to find a permanent version of my own personal definition of “zen”, was to create it, so I started a blog.

It’s also why my blog isn’t about anything specific.  I want to make sure that my metaphorical zen garden has room to grow with me, in any direction I want, at a moment’s notice.

Review a book?   Why not!
Write a recipe?   Okay!
Post a picture?   Done and done!
Tell a story?   Here we go!

The openness, noise, and oddity of it all inspires me to collect more absurdity, and the cycle continues, and the garden grows.

What about you?  Are you more inspired in clutter, or when the path is clear? Do intense emotional displays encourage you or frighten you?  Are your favorite pieces of art silent, or noisy?

Do you have a garden too? What’s it like?

 

____________________

Special Photo Challenge: (There’s some special rules with this one, so be sure to read them all!) Show us photos of yourself doing things that inspire you to blog.  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/special-photo-challenge-inspiration/

23 comments

  1. I like a clean house with tidy piles. I like inspirational things around me – books, art, photography, etc. – but it’s orderly. Make sense?? My garden’s the same actually. The structure of the garden is intact, but within the beds is colorful chaos. :)

    Like this

    1. Makes perfect sense! I also prefer very organized chaos. It’s why I spent the first few weeks of my blog predicting categories instead of writing anything, ha! :) (Also, “Colorful chaos” is a beautiful choice of words.)

      Like this

  2. You’ve really spelled out how my mind works! I don’t think I could blog about just one subject – the world is so full of a number of things ;)

    And yes, I have a (literal) garden – it has a few constants: the peonies that I grow in memory of my grandmother, who had a huge vegetable garden with a dozen big peonies on either side of the entrance; the iris that my friend Eileen gave me; the azaleas that I love because for a few spring weeks they’re an overpowering fluorescent pink; and the daylilies that just grow and bloom and grow and bloom. But in addition, every year I wind up planting half a dozen miscellaneous annuals, as unusual as possible. It’s disorderly and unpredictable and colorful and if possible sweet smelling, hitting as many senses as possible as hard as flowers can.

    Yeah.

    Like this

    1. It sounds like you have a beautiful garden– full of color, inspiration, and meaning! Unfortunately, I can’t grow anything. I get near a plant and it wilts to death, :)

      I do love blogs focused on one thing, I just know I could never manage it myself. Like you said, the world is just too full of wonderful things!

      Like this

  3. I would have to say I work best surrounded by clutter {looking around my work space}. Although I do like some kind of organization…like labels/files documentation etc etc…and my garden is the same….chaos amidst calm…simple mixed up with complex…I could be listening to CNN {like now} or afternoon at the opera…and be just as inspired. Diversity is the seed of balance.

    Like this

    1. Balance and diversity– two of my most favorite words. :) Mixing simplicity with the complex sounds like a beautiful recipe, and keeping that balance is a talent that not many people have. :) Thanks for sharing, and reading!

      Like this

  4. ok – before I read your response to Sarah above, I was about to say, I prefer organized chaos! things get too dull if the path is always clear! Intense emotional displays sometimes frighten me and other times entertain me….and I would say, I like colorful art…it could be silent or noisy.

    Like this

    1. I love colorful art as well! I’ve seen several striking black and white photos, but nothing speaks to me like a streak of color in an art piece. I’d agree, though… a clear path gets boring, and I try to avoid being bored. :D Thanks for reading!!

      Like this

  5. My environment has got to be very tidy and calm. I’m a ‘everything in it’s place’ kinda girl – that means that even my other half’s Transformers collection has its spot on the shelf. However, I like music played loud – especially if I’m cooking. And I love having a garden. I did without it for years in London (except for 1 flat, I never even had a balcony or ledge for pots). I’ve co-opted my mother’s garden (yep, back at the olds until I get myself sorted in Australia again) we now have beans, zucchini, eggplant and capsicum taking over the world. I love it. My house needs to be tidy but my garden should be messy :)

    Like this

    1. I’m jealous. Tidiness, like the patience for growing a garden, is a virtue that I don’t have. :) I’m the first to take the toys off the shelf and move them around for fun… but the very last to remember to put them back. :)

      Like this

  6. Rara, have you heard of chaos theory? Well, you live it. You turn chaos into order then back into chaos to create more order. Case in point, this post. You start with a photo that has been textured to look like a comic that reflects the artwork on the walls in the photo.

    You then go into a history of the photo followed by the introduction of a “method in the madness” form of meditation.

    Suddenly, you drop a poem on us that takes oddity, eccentricity, and weirdness and transforms them into peace, motivation, and illumination.

    Then you go into a creation myth about Rarasaur. Followed by a table of contents that gives your blog artistic license.

    This chaos is then rationalized as a cycle and a form of growth.

    Somehow it all makes perfect sense, and even if we are not prone to “openness, noise, and oddity,” we feel as comfortable as if we were sitting in a hot tub plopped right in the middle of Kyoto’s famous zen rock garden.

    I don’t know how or why you do it, but it is so satisfying for us followers. Thank you.

    Like this

    1. This was a beautiful comment, and I thought and thought about how to reply to it, but I got nothin’. :D So… *hugs*, and love to you– for the support, the understanding, and the beautiful words.

      Like this

      1. ha, ha. What a change–I made you think for once. Love to you too, Rara. Sorry about the long comment, but I’ve been wanting to thank you for your eclectic and entertaining posts for a while now, and this seemed like a good opportunity. Ooops, I’m starting another long comment. Bye.

        Like this

  7. You have a wonderful garden. I love your spontaneity and stylistic approach of taming your garden. I haven’t any green fingers, my talent ends at weeding.

    Like this

Rawr?

