2013a

The Power of Symbols

“I believe in the power of symbols.”

- Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey, page 82, sentence 3, Special Edition Nook Version

I absolutely believe in the power of symbols and signs!  So much so that when the Daily Prompt asked me to open the nearest book to page 82 and write a post about the third full sentence– I considered it a double-sign that the sentence was about symbols.

Not to sound like the double-rainbow-meme-guy, but … what does it mean?

There’s a lot of symbols in my life that have meaning to me, for a multitude of reasons.  Sometimes it’s obvious– what the symbol means to most people is what it means to me.  Sometimes it’s personal– the symbol has meaning because of things that happened in my life, or people I have met.

Each one is probably deserving of it’s own post, but for the purposes of this challenge, I thought I’d display of the beauty of them as a photo gallery:

I snagged all these from Symbols.com — which do you recognize? Are there any symbols that mean something to you?  Either something inherent in their known meaning, or something personal?

_______________________________

Daily Post: Open your nearest book to page 82. Take the third full sentence on the page, and work it into a post somehow: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/daily-prompt-connect-the-dots/

16 comments

  1. I recognize all of them…save two. The one that looks like a bio-hazard sign gone wrong, and the middle one in the last row, which looks familiar but I cannot recall where I would have seen it before now. (Is it Hindu?) I may not have the correct meaning, but they do have meaning, except for the first one in the middle row. It does remind me of ES: Skyrim, which I haven’t played in a while.

    Like this

  2. Symbols and Signs….when I recognise a sign or symbol, I tend to relate that directly to what I was doing when I first saw it, and how I was feeling and how that sign/symbol made me feel, the actual meaning of them becomes irrelevant sometimes.

    Like this

  3. Thank you for stopping and liking a recent post. I look forward to following what can only be seen as an interesting blog, to the say the least, with headings like geekery and madhattery. What more can a person ask.

    Take care,

    Ivon

    Like this

Rawr?

