ra-son

What is your Blogger Personality Profile?

Ra-Son Blogger Type Indicator (BTI) Profile Test

A psychometric analysis of your blogger personality profile.

ra-sonThis test is a method of determining your preferred blog construct in respect to motivations, values, interests, and community.

My husband and I masterminded this little test because (a) we were bored and (b) we wanted some way to differentiate the needs of bloggers.  We decided a personality profile would be the easiest way to determine the motivations and dreams of a blogger, as well as their natural preferences towards different types of action and topics.  All this to answer questions like:

  • “Does every blogger want more followers?”
  • “Is a blogger with something to gain from blogging doing everything in their power to maximize their efforts?”
  • “Are bloggers with a message meeting their goals most effectively?”
  • “Are people’s real-life preferences affecting their blog’s persona, and if so is that a good thing?”

Methods & Limitations:

To comprise the eight type identities and the sixteen overall personality profiles, we analyzed over 100 blogs and read over a dozen books on psychometrics and various other means of personality profiling.   For the colors, specifically, we focused on the North American meanings in regards to interior design and marketing.  Source books found at the end.

BeakerAbout the BTI test:

  • This is just for fun.  Don’t take it too seriously, okay?  We’re not scientists!
  • There are four quizzes to whittle down the eight type identities into a personality profile comprised of four type identities.
  • The eight type identities are: Introspective (I) or Extroverted (E), Personal Gain (G) or Personal Development (D), Single topic (S) or Multiple topic (M), Citing (C) or Theorizing (T).
  • Though each individual type identity has certain characteristics, the better analysis is that which combines the four into a complete personality.
  • Indicators are based on preferences of your blogging personality, not inherent characteristics of your truest self.
  • Preferences aren’t better or worse, just different.
  • Direction of preference is more important than degree of preference.
  • All type indicators are based on bloggers with public blogs, producing original content.
  • All type indicators are based on a blogger’s personality in respect to a single blog.  It’s possible for one person to have a different blogger personality profile for each of their blogs.

Question_markSome information about the type indicators:

I/E – Introspective or Extroverted – Outreach and community. These type identities are about how you relate to your readership and your fellowship. How much do you choose to engage? How much of your blogging efforts are based on feedback? Are you active in fellow blogging communities? Do you allow comments and, if so, do you respond to them?

D/G – Development or Gain – Motivation and purpose. These type identities are about why you blog. Are you promoting a company, organization, or cause? Is it a journal for your notes or to document a journey? Are you an artist or writer trying to establish a fan base? Are you just trying to reach your already existing fan base in a simple way? Are you using the blog as a platform in which to heal?

M/S – Multiple Topics or Single Topic – Topics and interests. These type identities refer to the boundaries you place on your blog, and how you perceive them. If you blog about everything happening in your life, is that a single topic or multiple topics? If you post only photographs, is that a single topic or multiple topics? If you have consciously chosen single or multiple topics, was it for impact, ease, or for interest’s sake?

C/T – Citing or Theorizing – Style and form. These type identities are about how you express your ideas on your blog. Are you reporting or creating? Are you telling fact or writing fiction? Do you cite or theorize? Do you write on experiences or observations? Is your blog scientifically-grounded or faith-based? Do you offer solutions or possibilities? Do you encourage thinking or feeling?

How to Discover your BTI Profile:

  • Take each of the four 10-question tests.  They are separate tests, hosted on a 3rd party site, but you shouldn’t need to log-in  Each test will give you 1 letter as a final result.
  • Put all four letters together and then review your blogger personality profile below.

I/E- Test : http://www.quibblo.com/quiz/hRgy2I5/Ra-Son-Blogger-Type-Identity-Profile-Test-IE-Introspective-or-Extroverted

D/G- Test : http://www.quibblo.com/quiz/hRgyUWP/Ra-Son-Blogger-Type-Indicator-Profile-Test-DG-Development-or-Gain

S/M- Test : http://www.quibblo.com/quiz/hReIbEu/Ra-Son-Blogger-Type-Indicator-Profile-Test-MS-Multiple-Topic-or-Single-Topic

C/T- Test : http://www.quibblo.com/quiz/hRf1nRg/Ra-Son-Blogger-Type-Indicator-Profile-Test-CT-Citing-or-Theorizing

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

ra-son blog type indicators, bti profile, blogger personality, personality quiz, personality test, ra-son bti, ra-son blogger test,

 

Thanks for playing along!

Don’t be shy, tell us how we did.  What were your results?

SOURCES:

(Not in correct bibliographic format. Sorry, Mom.)

How to Master Psychometric Tests: Mark Parkinson PH.D
What flavor is your personality?: Alan Hirsch M.D
A Psychometrics Primer: Paul Kline
Please Understand Me: David Keirsey
Color Smart: Mimi Cooper
Color, Environment, & Human Response: Frank Mahnke
The Psychology of Color in Marketing: June Campbell
The Profit of Color: Color Marketing Group
Social Media Metrics Secrets: John Lovett
Primal Leadership: Daniel Goleman
101 Blogging Tips: Tristan Higbee
What type am I?: Renee Baron

Obviously we borrowed heavily from the work of
the Meyers-Briggs Personality Type Index test,
including playing on the name.
193 comments

  1. Hmm, just tried quiz one and got flicked to some random website about…Dunno, what it was about at all really.Type of blogger am I ? When I work it out I will get back to you :D

    Like this

    1. Haha, yep, Quibblo! It’s the site that hosts the little quizzes we made. Since it doesn’t have the infrastructure for a big quiz, we had to break them up into 4 little quizzes. Each little quiz gives you 1 letter as an answer. Then you put all the letters together for your overall profile. Ha, it’s a little complicated, but that’s what you get when you stay up too late. :D

      Like this

  2. That was fun! I’m apparently EGST. Mmm, chips and salsa. Wouldn’t have minded chocolate, but chips and salsa are good too. :D Not tooooo sure about fuschia, though, haha.

    Like this

    1. Yay, thanks for playing! haha, the colors are based on marketing a product or making a home welcoming– and the idea is that they’re colors that might accentuate the concept better than ones we prefer sometimes. :D There’s a little expression my mom uses, that you use worms to catch fish, not cookies… even if you like cookies better! I tried to research/pick the colors with that in mind.

      Like this

    1. Ah, an EDMT– I think a lot of people who read my blog will be that, and the results will be slightly skewed unless it ends up getting shared on enough blogs. It’s mine, too, and like-minded people tend to gather together! :)

      Like this

  3. I am an IDMC blogger personality, which I’m quite happy with…and not just because I love pies and my favourite colour is purple (violet isn’t too far off!)

    Enjoyed this post and doing the quiz rather a lot. Thank you :)

    Like this

  4. I scored EGMT, but I think that reflects more what I wish my blog was and less of what it actually is. I mean, I started it to try to promote my writing, but it’s really isn’t working for that at all.

    Like this

    1. That’s the next part of this venture– we’re going to map out, based on research, what you can do to make the most of the blogger personality you want to have. Example, if your blog is for personal gain– how to actually generate income or referrals from it. :) Thanks for playing along! :D

      Like this

  5. I got EDMT, which seems to be the most common one. (Or perhaps the blog type that is drawn to reading your blog?) What do you think?

    That’s so cool your husband has a blog!

    Like this

    1. :D I love that he has a blog, too– shared interests, and all that! :) I definitely think the EDMT’s are just drawn to my blog, or me to theirs originally… just because of the like-minded concept. I think maybe an IGSC would be very confused about the point of my blog, the (lack of) pattern of my blog, and maybe even a little frightened by my social-ness, haha! :) Thanks for playing!

      Like this

  6. You guys are awesome. Thanks for doing this, so much fun! I got EDMT, as I have a feeling most people who blog will get. Most of us are scatterbrained extroverts interested in our own opinion. :)

    Like this

    1. :) Which were you and which do you think you are? We have a series a posts based on that concept… that sometimes we are representing our blog differently than we think we are. Like a lot of time, “G”‘s don’t make it easy for themselves to actually gain from their blog… hopefully we’ll have some of those thoughts soon, I’d love to hear your thoughts so we can better build this idea. :D

      Like this

      1. I ended up being EDMC. Apparently as a blogger I’m an extrovert, but I would never describe myself that way in person. Also, citing versus theorizing was unexpected. The other two fit – development and multiple topics.

        Like this

    1. Yay! :D Thanks for playing! The foods and flavors were all based on one book, sourced above, and I think the idea with the s’mores is more to do with how they are made and the attitude of eating them rather than the actual food. :) Thanks again!!

      Like this

    1. :D I think that’s exactly the reason for the harmony of an EDMT– keeping crazy in check. :) Thanks for playing along! :) (I love the new gravatar photo, by the way! So cozy looking!)

      Like this

        1. haha, good! So much of the stuff I own is geared toward Californians, so it looks warm but isn’t. Ah, yep, it did take a bit of time, but I think the result was worth it! :D

          Like this

    1. Haha! Sorry, I should have warned you. It’s a free service, so the page is filled with click-traps. I went with Quibblo because I thought I could embed the quizzes– but no such luck. :D So, what was your BTI? :) Thanks for playing!

      Like this

  7. That was fun. Ended up in Maroon – one of my favourite colours. Liked the “contagious” bit – hope that turns into something good. Don’t know that I answered everything correctly for me – some of the questions were rather odd for my site but, there you go, at least I gave it a try.

    Like this

    1. It’s definitely a good sort of energy, so to have it be contagious is fantastical. :D Yep, since blogs are all so different, I had to account for a margin of error where some questions for each people would be unanswerable. :) Thank you for playing along, though! :D

      Like this

  8. I love type indicators! I’ve done the free ones (who wants to pay for the pro one??) and it’s so much fun. I’ve done them on everyone I know almost. This was the best. The image is now on my blog with a link to this post. Too fun! :D

    Like this

  9. I am an EDMC. I find it interesting that I got an “E” on here since IRL I am 100% “I” on every test I have ever taken. But then again, it might not be surprising given my intentions when setting up my blog to begin with.

    Like this

    1. So many of us are extroverts online and introverts offline. There’s a boundary of sorts that allows us to open up to an internet social community that we might not be able (or willing) to do in a real life environment. Of course, it’s always possible the test is just wrong, but in this case, I don’t think so– you’re so responsive in your blog, definitely an E! :D

      Like this

  10. I’m EDMT and I think I agree. This was a fun quiz and actually something I had unconsciously been looking for. I’ve also been thinking about different type of bloggers recently and I was planning to make post about the topic someday. If I end up doing it, do you mind if I link it back to this quiz? Thanks for this Rarasaur!

    Like this

    1. Of course not, everything on my blog is yours for the stealing so long as it’s awesome-stealing. :D No need to even link, but of course a link back to the post is helpful just so others can see, though. Thanks for playing along and taking the quiz!!

      Like this

  11. Reblogged this on everyday gurus and commented:
    Take this test by Rarasaur to find out what kind of blog you have. Later, she will post advice on how to use your blog personality type to accomplish your blogging goals. {{{Hugs}}} to Rarasaur for her selfless acts of kindness on the blogosphere.

    Like this

    1. Thank you so much for the re-blog! I’m hoping the diversity of blogs reblogging will add some more variance to the data, but we already knew it’d be hard to even get a lot of I’s to take the test to begin with. Goes with the introverted turf! *hugs*

      Like this

  12. Two things that amaze me: 1) that you could ever have the time to be bored.and 2) that you are 28 years old. You are way too active to ever have the time to be bored and you are way too wise to be only 28.
    This test is incredible–the idea, the execution, the graphics, the food and colors, the love. Thank you. I am EDST. Trail mix suits me perfectly since I am a wannabe hippie. Can’t wait to see the advice post on how to use this test to reach our goals. {{{Hugs}}} for this, Rara.

    Like this

    1. haha, well, sometimes we take a break on other projects we’re working on, and then don’t want to just sit around watching television. :) So it’s like being bored. :D 28, eek, I still can’t believe I’m so close to 30. Thank you so much for the support of the quiz, and the compliments– *hugs*

      Like this

  13. Engaging and coaching, I like it. EDSC. Should I integrate brown into my site? You two crazy kids need to get more sleep. xoxo!

    Like this

Rawr?

