mixtape

Mix Tape: I guess I’m the hero.

mixtape

growingup

  • I was taught to be aware of the things you can’t change, “So the water swept over the unfortunate pair, And the froggy cried out with the last of his air, He said “Why did you do it?, now you’re goin’ down too!”, Said the Scorpion “it’s my nature, that’s what scorpions do”” - Madeleine Peyroux, Shoulda Known
  • I was taught to change the bad things that are capable of being changed, “A buzzard took a monkey for a ride in the air, The monkey thought that everything was on the square. The buzzard tried to throw the monkey off his back, The monkey grabbed his neck and said, “Now listen, Jack…”” - Robbie Williams, Straighten Up & Fly Right
  • I was taught to charge forward into the world, unafraid, “Listen as your day unfolds, challenge what the future holds, Try and keep your head up to the sky. [..] Herald what your mother said, Read the books your father read.” - Des’ree – You Gotta Be

gettingold

  • And then I got married, “When everything is wrong I’ll come talk to you, You make things alright when I’m feeling blue [...] You’re my best friend, and I love you.” – Weezer, Best Friend
  • And my siblings grew up unexpectedly wonderful, “Of course you’re special, And that’s why you’re different, And that’s why life is gonna notice you [...] And please, just remember, You’ve always got my undivided love” - Thirsty Merc, Undivided Love

squished

  • Then one day I was shattered, and broken from the inside. “Her bones will ache, Her mouth will shake, And as the passion dies, Her magic heart will break, She’ll fly to France, ‘Cause there’s no chance, no hope for Cinderella.  She lost her spark and what she’s pushing for, she can’t remember.  [...] She needs to heal.” – Come September, Natalie Imbruglia
  • And I was angry and frightened for a long while, The trouble with being poor is not always wanting more, But keeping the things you have, And the things that have you– Oh, we are all alone in the end alone. Get Set Go – Trouble with Being Poor
  • But I tried to put on a good show because that’s how you keep jobs and friends, Putting on the Ritz
  • Then I got bored with wasting energy in my own mind because it was getting quite strange in there, “Sometimes I’m not really sure if I’m alive or not.  But I heard that that adhesive they put on the back of envelopes is made out of rabbit mucus.  And I read somewhere that if you rewire a garage door opener, you can open, like, anyone’s garage you want. It just seems like somebody should do something about that! Well it’s a long day in my mind again, and I’m trying to sleep.  I got a list of symptoms, I’m trying to make a disease”,  The Radishes: Long Day in My Mind
  • So I started a blog to focus on the people who pulled me through, the simple teachings that kept me happy through the drama, and the fun side of my inner mind - “If life seems jolly rotten, There’s something you’ve forgotten and that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing. When you’re feeling in the dumps, don’t be silly chumps, just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing.  And…always look on the bright side of life… “Monty Python – Always Look on the Bright Side of Life

fairytale

  • I’m pretty sure tomorrow is going to be lovely.  “I see skies of blue, clouds of white, bright blessed days, dark sacred nights, and I think to myself, what a wonderful world!” Louis Armstrong – What a Wonderful World

_____________________________________

Daily Prompt: Put together a a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails. : http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/daily-prompt-20/

29 comments

  1. You always entertain and delight…some lyrics from my favourite song by Paperlace ‘The Night Chicago Died’. Love songs that tell stories. :)
    “I heard my mama cry
    I heard her pray the night Chicago died
    Brother what a night the people saw
    Brother what a fight the people saw, yes indeed

    Then there was no sound at all
    But the clock upon the wall

    Then the door burst open wide
    And my daddy stepped inside
    And he kissed my mama’s face
    And he brushed her tears away”

    Like this

  2. Oh! Yout fit in a Python song…. dang, I wish I had thought of that. Though, I’m not really sure where “The Lumberjack Song” would have made it into my set I could have figured something out! Great list! Great post, as always.

    Like this

    1. I feel like that song is probably the theme song of this blog, if this blog had a theme song, haha! :D I love the Lumberjack song, :) I think it would fit tidily under “When I wanted to be a Lumberjack”, of course. :D

      Like this

  3. Love the songs, the storytelling, the lyrics, the green cassette tape, everything, except for the fact that the Madeleine Peyroux song reminded me of the graphic images in the film The Crying Game.

    Like this

    1. Sorry! I didn’t mean to bring up The Crying Game, haha! :) The Madeleine Peyroux song is just a retellin’ of an old story. :) Thank for you for reading and commenting thoughtfully as always! :D

      Like this

  4. What a great post – and an eclectic collection!
    Here’s my cheerful contribution… but it’s a good reminder now and then

    Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
    You fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way.
    Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
    Waiting for someone or something to show you the way.

    Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain.
    You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today.
    And then one day you find ten years have got behind you.
    No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun.

    So you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it’s sinking
    Racing around to come up behind you again.
    The sun is the same in a relative way but you’re older,
    Shorter of breath and one day closer to death.

    Every year is getting shorter never seem to find the time.
    Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
    Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way
    The time is gone, the song is over,
    Thought I’d something more to say.

    Pink Floyd – Time

    Like this

Rawr?

