Van-GoghNGA-Self-Portrait-Full3

#11 and the Face of Gogh

Van-GoghNGA-Self-Portrait-Full3I’m kicking #11 off my bucket list tomorrow when I finally get to see Van Gogh’s self-portrait, with my own two eyes.

It never seems to be in art museums around me, no matter where I live.  If it’s in town, I’m not.  Every. Single. Time.  But it’s here now, and the Norton Simon has a free day, and I am going to see it, in person.

For those of you who have never seen a Van Gogh in person, you really must!

When scanned and flattened, though beautiful still, something is lost in translation.  It’s a tiny spark– a kindling, really– that sets a fire of emotion in your heart.  A piece that flattens into a happy bright field of flowers will make you want to cry when you see it in person.  Other pieces look remorseful and dark on the internet, but in person… they fill you with hope.

I expect this one to fill me with unexpected emotions as well, and I am looking forward to it.

I’m excited, and the timing of the prompt just makes me feel like this art visit is written in the very stars.
I think Van Gogh would appreciate such synchronicity, don’t you?

_______________________________________

Who are your favorite artists? Do you have a bucket list? Is it a numbered list? If so, what’s number 11?

Daily Post: What’s the 11th item on your bucket list? http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/daily-prompt-kick-it/

69 comments

  1. That’s so exciting :-) and yes, synchronicity…I love that word, and that feeling!

    Some of my favourite artists are Australian greats…Dickerson; Gary Shead…

    I don’t have a bucket list…methinks I should hmmm..

    Like this

    1. Bucket lists are fun, especially if you don’t take them too seriously. ;) I like to rearrange them at will. :) I’m a fan of Sidney Nolan, a surrealistic artist from Australia… :) And, hurrah, a lover of synchronicity– another thing we have in common. :D

      Like this

  2. I have been to the Van Gough Museum in Amsterdam. I could have moved in, I didn’t want to leave. Starry Night is immense, mindblowing to see. As you say, 2D loses a lot! Also the experience of being in the presence of something so wonderful, is amazing

    Like this

    1. How wonderful! I can imagine not wanting to leave. I’m jealous of your experience, :) but also grateful that you were able to enjoy it for what it was really worth… I have a feeling a lot of people just pass on through.

      Like this

  3. Well, I have a couple faves, but they’re military aviation artists, and not well known. I managed to get a beauty of a British Lancaster during a night raid – a lot of colour from the targeting flares they used, and the German anti-aircraft fire. And the neat part was, I bought in Canada when the exchange rates were shifting rapidly, and did so in my favour. I ended up spending about $270 on a painting that should have cost me closer to $400, and initially was priced in Canadian dollars at almost 800!
    Other than Chicago, the only other town I ever hit the art museums in was NYC. I liked the Metropolitan (I think that’s what they call it), but the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA)? Blech! Lines of paint drooled down a canvas is ART? I’ve thrown out dropcloths with more intricate work! 8O

    Like this

    1. I love the Metropolitan, and I would have to agree on most of the MoMa, but they have their moments… and they also have an extraordinary gift store. :) It sounds like you got your paintings for a steal! I hope these aren’t the ones still in the basement… haha :)

      Like this

  4. Amazing! I know the feeling! I am a HUGE Renoir fan. I finally got to see my favorite: Two Sisters on the Terrace in Chicago and my second favorite: The Girl with the Watering Can. When I saw them, it was like, “Wow! They are REAL!”

    Like this

    1. Oh Renoir is another favorite! The Norton Simon has a few of his pieces on permanent exhibit, and though I’ve seen them a thousand times… it’s always so warming and wonderful to see them again. :D Art is fabulous!

      Like this

  5. One of most poignant quotes by Vincent Van Gogh is “I put my heart and soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process. The world owes a great deal to this remarkably brilliant man and his brother Theo.

    Like this

  6. Enjoy! I got to see a Louise Bourgeios (sp?) exhibition in Melbourne, Australia last week (most of the works were all the way from NYC) and there is an Anish Kapoor exhibition in Sydney at the moment which I am hoping to get along to. It is great when art travels to you rather than vice versa!

    Like this

    1. Oh how fun! It’s amaaaazing when the art travels to you. For some reason, it just makes it seem like a more exciting, bigger experience. And more relate-able too– like there it is, just a block away from where you get your pancakes… *sighs happily* Oh, the joys of art. I’m glad you’ve taken advantage of the great opportunities around you!

      Like this

  7. I ordered some grand masters in oil on canvas for my home, while the scale is obviously still off the whole experience so much richer, the smell of the drying oils, the tactile textures, posters just don’t cut it. One I would love to see is monet’s waterlillies , I bet the sheer scale is mind blowing, I must go to his home and gardens too. will be looking out for my nearest Van Gogh thanks for the reminder :)

    Like this

    1. Exactly! Posters, coasters, and t-shirts just don’t cut it. There are layers to artwork, shapes to the paint, and nuances to the colors. At least the oil on canvas captures some of the original flair. Good call! :D

      Like this

  8. There is nothing to compare with the physical reaction one gets from looking at a great, great piece of art. To say it is emotional just does not cut it. It stays with you forever. Van Gogh’s work is sublime and I guess we sometimes forget to remember what a privilege it is to see it. Enjoy your experience with the self-portrait and I’m sure we’ll all look forward to reading about it.

    Like this

    1. I know it! Every piece of great, great art that you get to see with your own eyes truly becomes a part of you. In numbers, the world has so little left of the great minds of yesteryear, and though we do an admiral job of sharing… yes, it is a privilege to see it. :D Thank you for putting it so prettily! :D

      Like this

  9. Man, I don’t think I’ve been to the Norton Simon since I was a kid. Candice Bergen used to do commercials for them. Van Gogh is a favorite of mine. I think the Getty has one or two of his paintings, and it’s always free (although you do have to pay for parking).

    Like this

    1. I love the NS. I mean, they’re snooty and it’s pricey, but the art there is so much more reachable than the art than the art at the Getty or the LACMA, or any of the other local ones. You’re inches away, and it’s all designed so that the only art you’re paying attention to is the piece right in front of you. :) They have a few Van Gogh’s on permanent display, and so does the Getty, but that particular portrait only swings by SoCal on rotation. I do love the Getty, though. We’re there as often as possible. :) Candice Bergen used to do commercials for the Norton Simon? Excuse me while I google. ;)

      Like this

    1. Degas is my husband’s favorite, and we’ve been to his showings whenever they’re in town. It’s enchanting and magical… every time! :D What a great experience to share with your son!

      Like this

  10. Oh wow! That is such an awesome bucket list item, and even better that you get to cross it off!

    My favourite artists are Caravaggio and Botticelli [I'm a child of divorce so PLEASE don't make me chose one!] However I am yet to see original artwork by either … or even to begin creating a bucket list for that matter! :-)

    Like this

    1. I’ve seen a Boticelli and, it’s amazing… totally worth a long drive. :D Caravaggio is one of my faves too, but I haven’t seen ‘em with my own two eyes yet. I think of my bucket list more of a stuff-I-want-to-do-that-isn’t-super-easy-to-do list. :D That makes it easier to compile!

      Like this

  11. love real Van Gogh instead of Flat Gogh too! Took kidlings to see Sunflowers in London, and we ended up being kicked out because they just wanted to get up close and personal, and kept setting the alarms off :-)
    They still remember that visit more than 15 years later!

    Like this

  12. Rawr!
    This is really exciting, I still remember when I first saw one of my favorite pieces of art with my own to cow-like eyes, Dali’s “The Persistence of Memory”, I wanted to take it home, but they would have probably shot me right there.
    Enjoy it.

    Like this

    1. Dali! *swoons* I loooove Dali! His work is just… amazing. There’s nothing like it, not even close. :) I’m glad you got to see it in person, so few people take the chance to seek out the art that moves them. The Van Gogh pieces I saw today were… breath-taking. :D Rawr!

      Like this

Rawr?

