592731-bigthumbnail

You and me? We’re connected.

“Everything in our world is connected by the delicate strands of the web of life, which is a balance between the forces of destruction and the magical forces of creation.”
- Fern Gully

592731-bigthumbnailI am a well-established quote junky, but my long-running obsession with quotations actually started with the fanciful movie, “FernGully”.  I was just a little sea otter and at the time, had no idea why this quote felt so right.  Being raised in an Intuu household, I was trained to trust that feeling so I wrote it in my tiny pink diary.  I still refer back to it today.

Many college classes, and thousands of books later, I’ve seen this quote in a million forms.  Everyone from John Donne to Kermit the Frog has something to say about the way we are connected– silly living beings sharing a home, surrounded by magic and the inevitability and survivability of destruction.  Thousands of hours of living have shown me that this quote is, in essence, my philosophy of being.

This was my first exposure to that idea expressed so baldly, and it will always be my favorite.

And you? What moves you?

____________________

Daily Post Prompt: Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/daily-prompt-quote/

77 comments

    1. :D That’s a good one, definitely something that pushes you forward! I don’t know if I could always live by it either, :) but maybe it’s one of those things where “sometimes” is “good enough”? :)

      Like this

  1. I live in Fern Tree Gully in Melbourne :-) and yes if you drive to the Forest on a summers day that is what it can look like.. that moves me…. a new borns cry moves me.. puppies, horse riding…the list is endless with me ..I’m a bit of mush bucket :-)

    Like this

  2. “You don’t win silver, you lose gold.” – Source Unknown
    It always reminded me to strive for something better & never give up.
    As for what moves me? A ton of things. Love, passion for the work I do, my son, dreams, kindness of others.

    Very moving post, Rarasaur. :)

    Like this

    1. :D I like it, it reminds me of the Les Brown quote, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars!” A think-big, reach-far philosophy is an admirable one to have. :) I love your list– I could see how those things could move you to win that gold. :)

      Like this

      1. Completely off subject – I need to thank you 1,001 times for pointing me in the direction of Kozo & the whole Bloggers for Peace movement. It’s an amazing thing we’re doing & I’ve met so many amazing people in the span of just a few days. I have a feeling we’re all going to do something greater than us.
        & P.S. I love that badge you designed! I plan on placing a credits/reference/special thanks page up later this year & you’ll be included. :)

        Like this

    1. Oh yes! I saw the list you picked up at the MatticusKingdom. :D I have to say that Firefly and Boondock Saints are on my top 10 things to watch of all times… and so is Fern Gully! :) Of course he’s right… the Boondock Saints is not for everyone. It’s sort of … vulgar/violent. :) Thank you for reading! :D

      Like this

  3. The Fern Gully quote reminds me of “The Force is an energy field created by all living beings. It surrounds us, penetrates us, and binds the galaxy together.”
    P.S. I dream about being and intuu sea otter. :)

    Like this

    1. Exactly!! :D That idea is everywhere, ever present. I think it’s an idea that transcends generation, race, and hobbies. :) All metaphorical sea otters are Intuu, I think, haha, at least to some extent. :D Unfortunately, most grow up and lose that… (but not all of us grow up, haha!)

      Like this

      1. Seems to me that now that I’ve grown up, I’m spending all my time trying to “grow back” to the wonderful, loving days as a sea otter pup.

        Like this

    1. :) Aww, thanks, TD. Though I don’t know if it’s positive so much as realistic– people are tough and capable of magical things. I can say that with such assurance because we’re all so very much the same at the end of the day. :) See? That’s just logical. :D

      Like this

    1. :D Thank you! And thanks for the tweet-reference (I’m sure there’s a fancy name for that, but I haven’t learned all the lingo yet)… it’s my first @rarasaur reference ever and was so very exciting!!! :D *hugs*

      Like this

  4. “You don’t have to have a point, to have a point.” From the movie “The Point” about a little round headed boy who lives in a land filled with pointy headed- people. Great movie (spawned “me and my arrow”

    Like this

    1. I love the whole idea of that movie! It reminds me of Shel Silverstein’s story “The Missing Piece”… and the video was adorable, and sad all at once. I was ready to dino-squish those triangle kids for being so mean…

      Like this

    1. It is! I found a similar quote recently relating to how everyone out there is living a complex life where you might just be a side character in a coffee shop. :) That was such an interesting idea!

      Like this

      1. Come across bits and pieces of the Ramayana many times over the years. It’s such a long and detailed and complicated story. Saw some parts of it performed wonderfully in Bali, but not familiar with Lakshmana’s story. Will look it up.
        When I go into a sacred place that has been used for devotion for hundreds of years I’m always moved to tears. It’s seems to be about devotion to God or gods or spirit, but it’s all really about devotion to life. Imagine what the world would be like if we all developed a deep devotion for Life, the miracle of Life!

        Like this

  5. And you? What moves you?

    Music. Always music. Music soothes me, fires my creativity, sways my moods. There is *ALWAYS* a song running through my head. It’s not always one I’ve heard recently, because my brain’s internal mp3 player has a demented sense of humor. When I don’t listen to music for too long, I get *cranky.* And the soundtrack to Fern Gully is awesome, by the way- especially the extended version of Tim Curry’s song as Hexxus. I’m just sayin’.

    Like this

    1. :D Fern Gully did have magical music. I think that’s true of most good movies though– the music is equally exceptional. Music is a wonderful thing, and I’m just really starting to explore it. I didn’t even have a radio till I was in my 20′s, so other than the classical stuff I played in school, and the pop songs you couldn’t avoid… my musical experiences are quite limited. It sounds like music has been a powerful force in your life– I’m so glad it’s available everywhere for you to enjoy. :D

      Like this

  6. “Start before you’re ready.” – Steven Pressfield
    Living a life of hesitancy, second guessing, over-thinking isn’t allowing me to live my life to the fullest or make it as rich as it could be. I love the idea of just starting, naysayers be damned.

    Like this

Rawr?

